Log in

38th Annual AMSAT Space Symposium and Annual General Meeting

  • October 17, 2020
  • 09:00 - 17:00 (CDT)
  • AMSAT YouTube Channel & Zoom Meeting


Registration is now closed, but don't miss out on the fantastic presentations on tomorrow's schedule. You can view them live on YouTube at https://youtu.be/EHDgrI_w8hY

The 2020 Virtual AMSAT Space Symposium and Annual General Meeting will be held on Saturday, October 17th from 9:00am CDT – 5:00pm CDT (UTC -5).

Registered members will be eligible for prize drawings and will be able to participate in Q&A sessions during the event. There are a lot of great presentations scheduled, so you do not want to miss this event!

AMSAT members who are not able to log in to their accounts in order to register should consult the instructions for gaining access.

Login details for the Zoom Webinar as well as a link to the 2020 AMSAT Symposium Proceedings will be emailed to registered attendees shortly after registration closes tomorrow evening.

If you are not an AMSAT member, please consider joining AMSAT and registering for the webinar. An annual membership is just $44 ($22 for students) and includes access to The AMSAT Journal (including archives dating back to 2014), access to all Proceedings of AMSAT Symposia dating back to 1986, and access to special events such as this Virtual Symposium.

If you do not wish to join AMSAT at this time, or prefer to view another way, the Symposium will also be simulcast via YouTube to the public at https://youtu.be/EHDgrI_w8hY

If you are not able to join us or watch for the day, the YouTube replay will remain available for future viewing at the above link.


Time (CDT)

Time (UTC)

Presentation Title / Panelists



Welcoming Remarks

Panelists: Clayton Coleman, W5PFG



AMSAT GOLF-TEE System Overview and Development Status – Eric Skoog, K1TVV

Panelists: Eric Skoog, K1TVV, Burns Fisher, WB1FJ, Chris Thompson, AC2CZ/G0KLA, Zach Metzinger, N0GZO, Jerry Buxton, N0JY



GOLF IHU Coordination – Burns Fisher, WB1FJ

Panelists: Eric Skoog, K1TVV, Burns Fisher, WB1FJ, Chris Thompson, AC2CZ/G0KLA, Zach Metzinger, N0GZO, Jerry Buxton, N0JY



GOLF Downlink Coordination – Burns Fisher, WB1FJ, Chris Thompson, AC2CZ/G0KLA

Panelists: Eric Skoog, K1TVV, Burns Fisher, WB1FJ, Chris Thompson, AC2CZ/G0KLA, Zach Metzinger, N0GZO, Jerry Buxton, N0JY



FUNcube Next – Phil Ashby, M6IPX, Graham Shirville, G3VZV

Panelists: Phil Ashby, M6IPX, Graham Shirville, G3VZV, Wouter Weggelaar, PA3WEG



LunART (Luna Amateur Radio Transponder) – Peter Guezlow, DB2OS

Panelists: Peter Guezlow, DB2OS



CatSat HF Experiment Overview – Mike Parker, KT7D, and Chris Walker, K7CKW

Panelists: Mike Parker, KT7D, Chris Walker, K7CKW



Neutron-1 CubeSat – University of Hawaii – Hawaii Space Flight Laboratory

Panelists: Miguel Nunes, Amber Imai-Hong, Lloyd French



Progress and Development of Open Source Electric Propulsion for Nanosats and Picosats – Michael Bretti, Applied Ion Systems

Panelists: Michael Bretti



AMSAT Education – Co-Host: Alan Johnston, KU2Y

  • AMSAT Education: CubeSatSim Project Update – Alan Johnston, KU2Y, and Pat Kilroy, N8PK
  • STEM Payload Board – David White, WD6DRI
  • Building the AMSAT CubeSatSim (By a Complete Novice) – Christine Mehner, MD, PhD, KO4EWG
  • ARISS Radio Pi  and the CubeSatSim Lite – Melissa Pore, KM4CZN
  • A Guide to the AMSAT CubeSatSim - Alan Johnston, KU2Y, Pat Kilroy, N8PK, Jim McLaughlin, KI6ZUM, and David White, WD6DRI

Panelists: Alan Johnston, KU2Y (Co-Host), Pat Kilroy, N8PK, David White, WD6DRI, Christine Mehner, MD, PhD, KO4EWG, Melissa Pore, KM4CZN, Jim McLaughlin, KI6ZUM



ARISS (Amateur Radio on the International Space Station) / AREx (Amateur Radio Exploration) – Co-Host: Frank Bauer, KA3HDO

  • ARISS: 2020 Update – Dave Taylor, W8AAS
  • Next Generation Radio System – First Element Operations and Future System Plans – Kerry Banke, N6IZW
  • AREx/Lunar Gateway and Other Lunar Opportunities – Frank Bauer, KA3HDO

Panelists: Frank Bauer, KA3HDO (Co-Host), Dave Taylor, W8AAS, Chet Latawiec, VE3CFK, Kerry Banke, N6IZW, Lou McFadin, W5DID



AMSAT Engineering – Co-Host: Jerry Buxton, N0JY

  • Fox-1 Program Lessons Learned
  • GOLF Update

Panelists: Jerry Buxton, N0JY (Co-Host), Eric Skoog, K1TVV, Burns Fisher, WB1FJ, Chris Thompson, AC2CZ/G0KLA, Zach Metzinger, N0ZGO, Ray Roberge, WA1CYB



AMSAT Annual General Meeting – Co-Host: Clayton Coleman, W5PFG

  • ·         2020 AMSAT Update
  • ·         AMSAT Field Day Awards – Bruce Paige,  KK5DO

Panelists: Clayton Coleman, W5PFG (Co-Host), Paul Stoetzer, N8HM, Robert Bankston, KE4AL, Drew Glasbrenner, KO4MA, Frank Karnauskas, N1UW, Alan Johnston, KU2Y, Jerry Buxton, N0JY, Bruce Paige, KK5DO



Informal Zoom Session

Panelists: All interested attendees

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software